United Way: Tools 4 School Experience

Earlier today I took the kids to United Way, to pick up their backpacks and school supplies. A friend recommended I sign up for the Tools 4 School event, since we are considered a low income family. I was so impressed with the set up, that I thought I would share my experience about this fantastic program and organization.

Let me begin by telling you what United Way is, if you don’t already know.

United Way is a community center that strives to improve the lives of families and individuals in the community, by helping them achieve their full potential. They focus on helping families reach their educational goals, financial stability, and living healthier.

So when I arrived at the local United Way, I was so pleased to see how many activities they had planned for the kids. There was a pop up “school bus” tent, multiple craft tables lined with coloring pages, two bean bag toss games, tables filled with snacks and drinks for the kids, and on top of it there were free back to school haircuts! My kids were off, as soon as they went inside which is usually the case anywhere we go. The volunteers were so friendly and kind, and they even gave my youngest daughter Victoria her very first haircut! Victoria and Edwin aren’t starting school this year, but the volunteers still made them feel included. The kids and I were so pleased with our experience, and we will definitely be more involved with this fantastic organization.

LilyAlexia & LiliahVictoria

Don’t forget to check out the United Way website, for information about how you and your family can get involved, just click the banner below!
United Way Logo

One response to “United Way: Tools 4 School Experience

Leave a Reply

